USDA Names New Members to Food Safety Advisory Commitee

The US Department of Agriculture announced the appointment of 15 new members and five returning members to the committee.

2 Min Read
USDA appoints new committee members
USDA has appointed 15 new members and five returning members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection.Image courtesy of RyanKing999 via Getty Images

The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) has announced the appointment of 15 new members and five returning members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI).

Members of the committee are chosen based on their expertise in meat and poultry safety, public health, and other Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) policies.

“We are proud to announce the new committee members to NACMPI and grateful for their commitment to support food safety and public health,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “These members’ diverse expertise and advice will help USDA as we advance our important food safety mission.”

NACMPI provides advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Agriculture on food safety concerns and other matters affecting inspection program activities, including food safety policies that will contribute to USDA’s regulatory policy development.

The committee has made important contributions to a broad range of critical food safety issues. NACMPI reports provide current information and advice to FSIS and serve as a foundation for regulations and programs aimed at reducing foodborne disease and enhancing public health.

NACMPI includes 20 member. The newly appointed members, who serve a two-year term, are:

  • Dr. Mary Anne Amalaradjou – University of Connecticut, Tolland, CT.

  • Sharon Birkett – OSI Group, LLC, Bolingbrook, IL

  • Dr. Dianna Viola Bourassa – Auburn University, Auburn, AL

  • Dr. Byron D. Chaves – University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE

  • Dr. Vanessa Coffman – Alliance to Stop Foodborne Illness, Chicago

  • Dr. James Richard Dillon – State of Texas, Austin, TX

  • Scott Lee Filbrandt – Bob’s Processing Inc., South Haven, MI

  • Dr. James Harbey Hollis – South Carolina Meat-Poultry Inspection Department, Columbus, SC

  • James Kincheloe – Center for Science in the Public Interest, DC

  • Dr. Paul Steven Kuber – Washington State University, Spokane, WA

  • Anastacia Marie Larkin – Cougle Commission Company, Schererville, IN

  • Ali Mohseni-Motlagh – American Foods Group LLC, Newton Square, PA

  • Patrick Robinette – Micro Summit Processors, Pinetops, NC

  • Dr. James Rogers – Food Safety Research and Testing, Consumer Reports, Bowie, MD

  • Desiree Claire Ann Wineland – American Butchers LLC / Beyond the Butchers, Cambridge, NE

Returning NACMPI members are:

  • William Battle – Magnolia Processing Inc. DBA Pride of The Pond, Tunica, MS

  • Casey Lynn Gallimore – North American Meat Institute, Shawnee, KS

  • Dr. Joseph Harris – Southwest Meat Association, Franklin, TX

  • Teresa Schwartz – Retired Law Professor, DC

  • Dr. Byron Williams – Mississippi State University, Brandon, MS


About the Author(s)

Powder Bulk Solids Staff

Established in 1983, Powder & Bulk Solids (PBS) serves industries that process, handle, and package dry particulate matter, including the food, chemical, and pharmaceutical markets.

Sign up for the Powder & Bulk Solids Weekly newsletter.

You May Also Like