June 7, 2012

1 Min Read
Michael Katcher Receives Award of Merit from ASTM International Nonferrous Metals Committee

ASTM International Committee B02 on Nonferrous Metals and Alloys has presented the Award of Merit, ASTM’s highest organizational recognition for individual contributions to ASTM standards activities, to Michael Katcher, manager, codes and standards, at Haynes International, Kokomo, IN.

Katcher, who also received the honorary title of ASTM fellow, is the current chairman of Committee B02, and he also leads Subcommittee B02.92, the U.S. Technical Advisory Group to ISO Technical Committee 155 on Nickel and Nickel Alloys. Committee B02 honored him with the Gary M. Kralik Distinguished Service Award in 2011. A member of ASTM International since 1995, Katcher also works on Committee E01 on Analytical Chemistry for Metals, Ores and Related Materials.

A graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, where he received a bachelor’s degree in metallurgical engineering, Katcher assumed his role at Haynes International in 1995. Prior to that, he was manager of materials and processes at Kaiser Marquardt Corp., Van Nuys, CA, and lead engineer at Rockwell International, El Segundo, CA He is a registered professional engineer in the state of California.

In addition to ASTM International, Katcher is a member of ASM International and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

ASTM International is one of the largest international standards development and delivery systems in the world. ASTM International meets the World Trade Organization (WTO) principles for the development of international standards: coherence, consensus, development dimension, effectiveness, impartiality, openness, relevance and transparency. ASTM standards are accepted and used in research and development, product testing, quality systems and commercial transactions.

For more information, visit www.astm.org.

Sign up for the Powder & Bulk Solids Weekly newsletter.

You May Also Like