December 14, 2010

1 Min Read
SOCMA Re-Elects Brotherton as Board of Governors Chairman; Announce Six New Members

The Society of Chemical Manufacturers and Affiliates (SOCMA) announced that Dr. Larry Brotherton, president and CEO of Ortec Inc., was re-elected as chairman of SOCMA’s Board of Governors during the association’s 89th Annual Membership Meeting in New York on December 6.

“I welcome the opportunity to again serve SOCMA as board chairman and continue the important work of creating greater value for our members by strengthening existing programs and developing new services,” said Dr. Brotherton, who assumed the chairmanship in December 2009.

SOCMA members also re-elected the following slate of officers to the Board of Governors for one-year terms:

* Vice chairman – Nicholas Shackley, BASF Corp.
* Vice chairman – David Hurder, McGean Inc.
* Treasurer – David DeCuir, Albemarle Corp.
* Secretary – Steel Hutchinson, GFS Chemicals Inc.
* Immediate past chair – Charles Hinnant, Optima Chemical Group LLC

Additionally, the following SOCMA members were elected to serve one to three-year terms:

* Walter Adams – Baker Hughes Inc.
* Charles Bennett – Dixie Chemical Company, Inc.
* Brian Denison – Emerald Performance Materials LLC
* Charles Gavin – MFG Chemical Inc.
* Charles Hinton – Ethox Chemicals LLC
* Aslam Malik – AMPAC Fine Chemicals
* Graham Merfield – Rhodia Inc./Novecare
* Stephen Munk – Ash Stevens Inc.

SOCMA’s Board of Governors provides strategic direction, maintains fiscal responsibility, and helps management develop business plans to deliver member value. Through regular meetings, the board ensures effective organizational planning and sees that association resources are properly managed. For more information, visit

Sign up for the Powder & Bulk Solids Weekly newsletter.

You May Also Like