December 21, 2009

2 Min Read
SOCMA Elects Larry Brotherton Board of Governors Chairman

The Society of Chemical Manufacturers and Affiliates (SOCMA) has announced that Dr. Larry Brotherton, CEO and owner of Ortec Inc. in Easley, SC, was elected Board of Governors chairman during SOCMA’s Annual Meeting in New York City on December 7, 2009.

Speaking in New York, Brotherton said as chairman he will continue to promote SOCMA as a well-recognized and respected brand in the U.S. and around the globe. He outlined the organization’s priorities for 2010, including efforts to grow membership by enhancing and communicating SOCMA’s value propositions.

“Membership opens doors to new business enhancement opportunities and gives members direct input on critical legislative and regulatory issues,” he said. “It is imperative that we continue to improve our existing benefits, as well as add new benefits that will bring additional value to our membership.”

Recognizing that company travel budgets are tight, Brotherton said SOCMA will continue offering online networking opportunities and Web-based seminars to deliver valuable content to SOCMA’s diverse membership.

He also said the organization will keep focusing its energies on refining and promoting its ChemStewards performance improvement program and assisting members on their path to compliance.

“In today’s political and social climate, it’s increasingly important for companies to reduce their environmental footprint as they improve their overall chemical management accountability,” Brotherton said, underscoring that companies continue joining SOCMA because they realize the program is a great return on investment.

Brotherton has served on SOCMA’s Board of Governors since 2000. He is a graduate of Tusculum College and received his Ph.D in chemistry from the University of Tennessee. He has served on many civic boards and is currently a Trustee of Tusculum College.

Brotherton succeeds Charles Hinnant, chairman and CEO of Optima Chemical Group LLC and president of Charkit Chemical Corp., who completed a two-year term as Board Chairman.

SOCMA members also elected the following slate of officers to the Board of Governors for one-year terms:

* Vice Chairman – Nicholas Shackley, BASF Corp.
* Vice Chairman – David Hurder, McGean Inc.
* Secretary – Richard Monty, Hexion Specialty Chemicals Inc.
* Treasurer – David DeCuir, Albermarle Corp.

Also, the following members were elected to serve three-year terms to the Board of Governors:

* Kenneth Allen – Gabriel Performance Products
* Andy Harris – Syrgis Inc.
* Dana Mathes – Dow Chemical
* Susan Ostrowski –DSM Pharmaceutical Products
* Michael Ott – Polysciences Inc.

SOCMA is the leading trade association, serving the batch, custom, and specialty chemical industry since 1921. SOCMA’s nearly 300 members employ more than 100,000 workers across the country and produce 50,000 products valued at $60 billion annually. For more information, visit

Sign up for the Powder & Bulk Solids Weekly newsletter.

You May Also Like