Institution of Chemical Engineers Announces 2024 Award Winners

Eight individuals and five groups have received awards.

Kristen Kazarian, Managing Editor

March 5, 2024

2 Min Read
IChemE 2024 award winners
Entries were judged based on their contribution to the field of chemical and process engineering.Image courtesy of The Institution of Chemical Engineers

The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2024 medals and prizes. Eight individuals and five groups have been recognised today (5 March 2024) by the IChemE Medals and Prizes Committee for their exceptional contribution to the field of chemical and process engineering.


IChemE medals and prizes are awarded annually, and celebrate the remarkable achievements of individuals, universities and companies, encompassing an array of talent from both industry and academia.


“We are delighted to award these individuals and teams our profession’s highest accolades. Chemical engineers are constantly creating important new frontiers through their collective pursuit of knowledge, innovation, and positive impact, and this was evident in the impressive breadth and scope of the nominations. The submissions demonstrated world-leading examples of research, teaching and thought leadership, as well as outstanding volunteer service," said Professor Mark Simmons, FIChemE, chair of the IChemE Medals and Prizes Committee.

Award Recipients

Individual awards

Ambassador Prize                                             Jennifer Aitken (posthumous award)

Davidson Medal                                                Vince Pizzoni

Franklin Medal                                                  Gus Carroll         

Greene Medal                                                   Geoff Maitland (past IChemE president)

Junior Sargent Medal                                       Qi Zhang

Morton Medal                                                   Thomas Rodgers

Nicklin Medal                                                     Binjian Nie

Trustees Medal                                                  Margaret Donnan


Team awards

Hanson Medal                                                  Team from University of Melbourne, Australia

Hutchison Medal (joint award)                       Team from University of Minnesota, USA, Team from Shanghai Maritime University, China,

and Tongji University, China

Macnab-Lacey Prize                                    Team from University College London, UK

Senior Moulton Medal                                     Team from Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

To see the summaries of each award winner, visit

“I am proud to commend these extraordinary contributions made by the chemical engineering community," said Nigel Hirst, IChemE president. "The IChemE medals and prizes honor and celebrate those who are helping to shape the world with groundbreaking work, exceptional expertise, and dedicated progress towards addressing our global challenges. Congratulations to all of our very worthy winners, who have set an inspiring standard of excellence for us all!”

The medal winner’s achievements will be recognized during webinars taking place throughout the year.


Nominations and entries for the 2025 IChemE Medals and Prizes will open on April 2, 2024.


About the Author(s)

Kristen Kazarian

Managing Editor

Kristen Kazarian has been a writer and editor for more than three decades. She has worked at several consumer magazines and B2B publications in the fields of food and beverage, packaging, processing, women's interest, local news, health and nutrition, fashion and beauty, automotive, and computers.

Sign up for the Powder & Bulk Solids Weekly newsletter.

You May Also Like