Powder & Bulk Solids is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Chemical Industry Leaders Recognized for Improved Performance, Commitment to Health and Safety Programs

The American Chemistry Council’s (ACC) Responsible Care Awards Program recognizes those companies and individuals that have made an outstanding contribution to improved environmental, health, safety, and security (EHS&S) performance in the chemical sector.

“Responsible Care is the chemical industry’s commitment to sustainability, enabling us to enhance environmental protection and public health, as well as improve worker safety and plant security,” said Greg Babe, chair of ACC’s Board Committee on Responsible Care and president and CEO of Bayer Corp. “The Responsible Care Awards Program recognizes those companies that are among the industry’s very best performers, those companies that are leading the way to face EHS&S challenges today, to ensure that the industry is safer and more secure.”

ACC Responsible Care award winners qualify based on exemplary performance, and are selected by an external expert committee. The following awards were presented this year at the 2011 Responsible Care Conference & Exposition:

The Responsible Care Employee of the Year Award is presented to one member and one Partner company employee for outstanding leadership in Responsible Care. This year’s employee awards go to: Karen Lyall with ExxonMobil Chemical Co. (member company) and Dean McInnis with Kinder Morgan Liquids Terminal (Partner company).

The Responsible Care Partner Award recognizes the performance and excellent safety record of “Partner companies,” those companies involved in the distribution, transportation, storage, use, treatment-disposal, and/or sales and marketing of chemicals. This year’s Responsible Care Partner award winners are: A. Duie Pyle Inc., based in West Chester, PA.; Union Tank Car Co., based in Chicago; and Westway Terminal Company LLC, based in New Orleans.

The Responsible Care Performance Award recognizes those member companies who excelled at helping ACC meet industry-wide safety and product stewardship targets. This year’s winning companies include:

• Carus Corp.
• Celanese
• Champion Technologies Inc.
• Chemtura
• Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP
• El Dorado Nitrogen LP
• ERCO Worldwide Inc.
• Ethyl Corp.
• ExxonMobil Chemical Co.
• Ferro Corp.
• Honeywell
• Jones-Hamilton Co.
• Methanex Corp.
• Niacet Corp.
• NOVA Chemicals Inc.
• Nova Molecular Technology Inc.
• Occidental Chemical Corp.
• Royal DSM N.V.
• Sartomer USA LLC
• Taminco
• The HallStar Co.
• TPC Group Inc.
• Vive Nano

The Responsible Care Facility Safety Certificate is presented to member companies based on achievements in employee health and safety performance. The following companies are receiving ACC’s 2011 Facility Safety Certificates:

• Afton Chemical Corp.
• Akzo Nobel Chemicals Inc.
• Albemarle Corp.
• Arch Chemicals Inc.
• Arkema Inc.
• Ashland Inc.
• BASF Corp.
• Carus Corp.
• Chemtura
• Chevron Oronite Company LLC
• Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP
• Dow
• Eastman Chemical Co.
• El Dorado Nitrogen LP
• Ethyl Corp.
• Evonik Degussa Corp.
• Ferro Corp.
• FMC Corp.
• Honeywell
• ICL North America
• Infineum USA LP
• ISP Chemco Inc.
• Marathon Petroleum Company LLC
• Nalco
• Occidental Chemical Corp.
• OMNOVA Solutions Inc.
• Praxair Inc.
• Procter & Gamble, Chemicals Div.
• Rhodia Inc.
• Royal DSM NV
• SABIC Innovative Plastics
• Sartomer USA LLC
• SNF Holding Co.
• Solvay America Inc.
• Taminco
• Texas Brine Company LLC
• The Lubrizol Corp.
• TPC Group Inc.
• W.R. Grace & Co.

For more information, visit www.americanchemistry.com/rc

TAGS: News News